Manuel Ayau, R.I.P.

I have just learned of the passing of Manuel Ayau.

The world has lost one of its leading lights of freedom and prosperity. Among many other accomplishments, Dr. Ayau was the founder of the amazing and truly groundbreaking Francisco Marroquin University in Guatemala. Who could have imagined that a university dedicated to individual liberty and free markets, on the one hand, and to serious liberal arts education, on the other, could have even come into existence, let alone flourished? Yet Dr. Ayau, with his gentle but unflagging persistence, made it happen. I had the honor of lecturing at UFM several years ago; I hope I have the opportunity again soon.

I have had the privilege of meeting and speaking with Dr. Ayau several times, most recently in Las Vegas this past April. I cannot claim to have been a friend of his, but he was always gracious and cordial with me; after we chatted this past April, he even sent me an autographed copy of one of his books—a gift that I shall treasure.

If you do not know about Dr. Ayau, or about his Universidad Francisco Marroquin, a fitting way to honor his memory and his works would be to find out more about both.

May God rest his soul.

One thought on “Manuel Ayau, R.I.P.

  1. I knew “Muso” too and am sad to hear of his death. I knew he was ill but did not know he was close to death. The university he founded, UFM, is a very interesting place and built on quite a different model than our system. I am glad I got a chance to see Muso in his home environment during a trip down there several years ago. RIP.

Leave a comment